Reckless Driving 101
Reckless driving in Virginia can be charged if you drive 20 miles or more over the speed limit, or if you drive faster than 80 miles per hour. A conviction for reckless driving can have significant consequences, so you should seek out the assistance of an Arlington criminal defense attorney to see how they can help you with your specific case.
What penalties can you face for reckless driving?
In Virginia, reckless driving is classified as a class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted of reckless driving, you could face a fine of $2,500, 12 months of jail, a 6 month driver’s license suspension, and six DMV points.
A reckless driving conviction could also adversely affect your insurance rates and lead to additional costs related to insurance and reinstatement of your driving privileges.
How can an attorney help?
If you are charged with reckless driving, you should contact a criminal defense attorney Arlington residents can depend on. There may be defenses available to challenge the crime or justify a reduction to a less severe offense.
Because reckless driving requires the prosecution to prove very specific elements beyond a reasonable doubt, there must be sufficient evidence to prove each required element. An attorney can review the evidence to see if the prosecution can meet this burden of proof.
Police officers are required to follow certain procedures when they investigate a case. If these procedures were not followed or your constitutional rights were violated, then you may be able to have some evidence excluded from consideration in the case.
An attorney will advocate for a result that is just and fair under the circumstances. The experienced attorneys at Dischley Law, PLLC will help you understand your options, so you can make informed decisions about how to proceed with your case.
If you are facing reckless driving charges, then contact us to speak with an experienced Arlington criminal defense attorney and get the help you need.