Aggressive & Innovative Defense Strategies
Manassas Gun Crime Lawyer
Common Gun Crimes in Virginia
In Virginia, gun charges are common. There are over 30 gun offenses in Virginia. If you possess a gun in certain places you may face criminal charges. Also, if you suffer from specific legal disabilities, some people can run afoul of Virginia’s gun laws unwittingly.
What Are Common Gun Charges in Virginia?
- Illegally Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Brandishing a Firearm
- Possession of Firearm After a Felony Conviction
- Possession of a Firearm on School Property
- Possession of a Firearm with Possession of Drugs
- Displaying a Firearm While Committing a Felony
- Discharging a Gun in a Building
Can You Conceal Carry in Virginia?
Under Virginia Law § 18.2-308, it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon. A concealed weapon encompasses a pistol, switchblade, brass knuckles, and other specified weapons. Even with a concealed handgun permit, carrying knives or other weapons concealed can result in a violation of this law. Carrying a concealed weapon is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The punishment can be up to 12 months in jail and/or a $2,500 fine.
What Is Brandishing a Firearm?
Brandishing occurs when you unlawfully point, hold, or brandish a firearm at another person. However, The manner of brandishing must induce fear in the mind of another. Virginia Law § 18.2-282 makes it a Class 1 Misdemeanor to brandish a firearm. Additionally, if this violation occurs on the property of any public, private, or religious school, it is a Class 6 felony.
Can a Felon Own a Gun?
Virginia Law prohibits a person who is a felon from possessing a firearm. Even if the gun is in your car or home, you can face this charge if the weapon is under your control. Courts view the facts surrounding the offense in determining if the gun was under your control, such as the gun’s proximity to you and your ability to exercise control or dominion over it. If a conviction results, it is a Class 6 Felony which is punishable by one to five years in prison.
What Disqualifies You From Buying a Gun in Virginia?
Felons are not the only individuals who are prohibited and disqualified from purchasing a gun in Virginia. For example, any individuals under 18 are prohibited from buying a gun. Other disqualifiers may include individuals who have been involuntarily placed in an outpatient facility, have past acquittals by reason of insanity, have misdemeanor charges of familial assault or battery (for 3 years), or have formal judgements of incompetency or mental incapacitation, as well as those with protective orders. Any violation of these statutes could result in a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Other Common Gun Charges & Penalties in Virginia
Possession of a Firearm on School Property
Any person who possesses a stun weapon, knife (except for a pocket knife with a folding blade of fewer than three inches), stun gun, or other weapons other than a firearm on the property of any school commits a Class 1 Misdemeanor under Virginia Code § 18.2-308.1. Possession of a firearm under this law on school property is a Class 6 felony to possess any firearm on such property.
Possession of a Firearm with Possession of Drugs Charges
Possessing a gun and a schedule I or II drugs is illegal under Virginia Code § 18.2-308.4. Therefore, a violation of this law is a Class 6 felony. The penalty increases to a two-year mandatory minimum if the person charged with having the firearm “on or about his person” while possessing drugs.
Displaying a Firearm While Committing a Felony
Virginia Code § 18.2-53.1 makes it unlawful to use, attempt to use, or display a rifle, pistol, shotgun, or another firearm in the commission of certain serious felonies, such as rape, forcible sodomy, murder, robbery, carjacking, burglary, or malicious wounding. Because this is a separate and distinct crime, it carries a mandatory minimum sentence of three years in prison for a first offense and five years for a second or subsequent offense. The sentences also run consecutively with the penalty for the primary felony.
Discharging a Gun in a Building
It is a Class 4 felony under Virginia Code § 18.2-279 to discharge a firearm in a building that is occupied. However, this section requires malice. If death occurs, the offense is murder in the first or second degree depending on the intent of the shooter. If there was no malice in the discharge and there was no fatality, a person may be charged with a Class 6 felony. However, if a fatality results from such a firearm discharge, which was done unlawfully but not maliciously, the person may be charged with involuntary manslaughter.
Are you facing gun charges? Our experienced attorneys will explain what may happen in your case and how we can help you to build a strong defense. To learn more, schedule a free consultation with a Manassas gun crime attorney from our firm.
“I chose Dischley Law in part because they are a Veteran-owned firm, but also because of their competitive fees and the compassion they demonstrated as I described my case during the consultation”- C.G.
“After receiving a Reckless Driving summons in Fairfax, VA, I contacted a number of lawyers. I found my conversation with Dischley Law to be the most helpful and comforting.”- R.M.
“You will not find a more caring and proactive attorney in your search for effective representation. David gets right to the heart of the case, finds the defenses, and presents them at the right time.”- J.M.
Responsive. Assertive. Accomplished.
More reasons to Choose Our Firm:
We've Served Our Country & Community Through Military Service & As Former Prosecutors
We Have Over 30 Years of Combined Legal Experience
We Are Boutique Firm With Large Firm Experience & Reputation
We Use Knowledge, Strategy & Innovation to Produce Results
Our Firm Is Top-Rated & Award-Winning
Your Initial Consultation Is Free & Confidential
Contact us for a
Call (703) 215-9337 or Submit This Form